Another day, another outfit…

Guess where I’m going today?

Actually, don’t bother because you would never guess it in a million trillion years.

I’m going to the House of Commons (in London for those of you who are not familiar with the place!)

No, I haven’t suddenly become an MP-I am reporting from there.

Is this good or does this look better?

When I told my mum last night (rather excitedly I must admit) that I was going, she responded with a kind smile and urged me to dress warmly and comfortably.

Oh NO! I had been so looking forward to going that I hadn’t thought of the clothes dilemma I had yet to face.

First, it might be helpful to tell you what story I am going to cover-TRADE UNION JUSTICE WEEK.

Essentially, this week has been organised by unions across the justice sector, to campaign for better pay and more resources for the justice system, including prision officers, probation staff, police officers and staff. Phew!

But today the trade unions members are aiming to have a major lobby of parliament.

What on earth do campaigners wear because I really don’t want to stick out like a sore thumb. How bad would it be if everyone was in baggy jumpers, cords and walking boots and I was in shirt, suit trousers, shoe boots and a patent bag. Awful.

That’s leaving out the added complication of the House of Commons. I take it campaigners need to look smart too. But is campaigner smart the same as journalist smart.

Arghhhhhh. But am I getting protester and campaigner confused?! And why is there no online guidance for this issue?!

I’ll have to let you know what I figure out and what exactly is a campaigner’s uniform. Maybe I will have to be the only online guidance! Oh dear….

 

Leave a comment